Our Lady of Europe

The Holy Mother Church received the Rosary in its present form in 1214 in a miraculous way, when Our Lady appeared to Saint Dominic and gave it to him as a powerful means of converting the heretics and other sinners. Since then the devotion spread around the world with incredible and miraculous results.




The Five Joyful Mysteries (Mondays, Saturdays)


1. The Annunciation (Luke 1:26-38)

The Angel Gabriel announced to Mary that she would be the Virgin Mother of the one who would save God’s people.


2. The Visitation (Luke 1:39-56)

Mary goes to see her cousin Elizabeth, who herself is expecting a child – John the Baptist.


3. The Nativity (Luke 2:1-20)

Jesus is born in Bethlehem and God comes to dwell in our midst as Emmanuel.


4. The Presentation in the Temple (Luke 2:22-32)

Mary and Joseph fulfil the law and Jesus is presented in the Temple. Simeon and Anna praise God when they see the child.


5. The Finding of Jesus in the Temple (Luke 2:41-52)

Mary and Joseph are relieved and the boy Jesus hints at his future mission.

The Five Luminous Mysteries (Thursdays)


1. The Baptism in the Jordan (Matthew 3:13-17)

Jesus prepares himself to undertake the mission entrusted to him by his Father and is strengthened by the Holy Spirit for what is to come.


2. The Wedding at Cana (John 2:1-12)

Jesus performs his first miracle as he turns water into wine, allowing his glory to be seen and showing himself to be sent by God.


3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God (Mark 1:14-15)

Jesus begins to preach that the Kingdom of God is close at hand and invites his hearers to repent and believe in the Gospel.


4. The Transfiguration (Mark 9:2-8)

Jesus is transfigured on the mountain and his glory is revealed to the apostles as he talks with Moses and Elijah.


5. The Institution of the Eucharist (Luke 22:14-20)

As a lasting memorial of his presence Jesus institutes the Eucharist and commands us to celebrate it in memory of him by eating and drinking his body and blood.

The Five Sorrowful Mysteries (Tuesdays, Fridays)


1. The Agony in the Garden (Luke 22:39-46)

Jesus accepts the suffering knowing that God can bring good from his passion and death.


2. The Scourging at the Pillar (Matthew 27:24-26)

Although Pilate knew Jesus was innocent of any crime, he had him flogged to save his own position.


3. The Crowning with Thorns (Matthew 27:27-31)

Jesus is dressed mockingly in the robes of a king, with reeds for a sceptre and thorns for a crown.


4. The Carrying of the Cross (Matthew 27:32-38)

What was a symbol of execution to the onlookers became the instrument by which Jesus would save the life of the world.


5. The Crucifixion (Matthew 27:45-50)

Jesus dies, abandoned by almost all, and puts his trust in the will of his Father.

The Five Glorious Mysteries (Wednesdays, Sundays)


1. The Resurrection (John 20: 1-10)

The tomb is empty, the grave-clothes could not bind him, for he is risen as he said.


2. The Ascension (Mark 16:19-20)

After giving the command to go and teach all nations, Jesus ascends to his Father in heaven to complete his mission by sending the Spirit.


3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit (Acts 2:1-4)

The power of the Holy Spirit is given to the Church to transform the disciples from timidity to boldness.


4. The Assumption (Ephesians 1:1-6)

Mary, the first to believe in the message of the Incarnation, now shares the promised joy and the glory of her Son’s reign in heaven.


5. The Crowning of Mary in Heaven (Revelation 12:1-6)

Mary represents the Church which is now set free by Christ and the whole of redeemed creation which awaits the crowning glory of the Last Day.

After each mystery say the ‘Fatima’ prayer: Oh my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of hell, and lead all souls to Heaven, especially those in most need of Thy mercy.

Click to view printable pdf sheet

How to pray the Rosary’

Click here for downloadable Audio Rosaries